Farmer’s Market – Making Straight My Path

I am super excited to be selling at a small Farmer’s Market in a nearby town!  I don’t know that it’s going to be a huge income generator, but it is a wonderful opportunity to get out and meet people, share some of the wonderful produce that I am growing, here, at My Happy Homestead, and talk to people about growing and eating heirloom, organic food, and everything to do with gardening.

selling at the Farmer's Market

As with any business venture, I think it’s going to take some time for me to figure out my niche, but I am eager to learn, grow, and get better at what I do.

As the weeks go by, I hope to learn:

  •  what the community that I am serving desires in terms of products – my favorites may not necessarily be theirs.
  • how to price my goods fairly, yet at a level where I can make a little bit of a profit.
  • how much inventory to bring with me so that supply levels keep up with demand and don’t over-exceed it.
  • how to plant at the right intervals, in the garden, so as to keep a steady supply of fresh produce stocked for the market.
  • how to maximize space, in the garden, to grow as many different species and varieties as possible so that I have an abundance of fresh produce to offer.
  • as much as I can about what I grow and how I grow it so that I can easily explain and answer any questions that my customers may have.

I hope to grow:

  • as a farmer
  • as an entrepreneur

I hope to get better at:

  • time management
  • sales
  • plant production, propagation
  • meeting the needs of the community that I am serving
  • honing in on the best products to sell

I know that a learning curve comes with every new venture, but I  don’t think this one is too steep for me to overcome.  There is a ton of great information out there, on the web, by people who have been doing this for years that I have already learned so much from – especially in terms of booth display (which, by the way, I got great compliments from the Master Gardeners at the market on – yay!).  My favorite post on the subject can be found at the Rodale Institute.

The biggest challenge, for me,  is going to be not casting my net too wide.  There are so many different and wonderful opportunities that I envision happening at my Farmer’s Market booth.  In addition to the fresh veggies, I imagine selling baked and prepared goods, like our family’s favorite Chocolate-Zucchini bread, and single-serving, ready-to-eat, fresh garden salad with homemade salad dressing.  To go along with my fresh herbs, I’d love to venture into selling a homemade, herbal body scrub (I’m thinking lavender-rosemary and sweet pea for starters).  I have lots of great ideas that I’ve started to pin on my Fruit Stand board on Pinterest, and I’d love to try my hand at utilizing every single one of them!

I know that I cannot possibly do everything that I want to do.  So, I will do as Proverbs 3:5-6 instructs,

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.

In all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make straight your paths.” (He always does). 🙂

I’m so thankful for this opportunity and look forward to this new adventure in my life.  It may not make me a millionaire, but like everything else that I put my hand to, out at My Happy Homestead, it will be done -first and foremost- 100% to the glory of God, and then it will be a labor of love – measured in new friendships, business opportunities, life experiences, and the opportunity to pursue one of my greatest passions – gardening – things that can’t be measured in mere dollars, after all.

Have you turned any of your talents or passions into a business?   What is the greatest thing(s) you’ve learned?  In what areas have you grown?  What have you become better at doing?

Thinking about turning your talents into a business?  What’s holding you back?  What do you envision for your business?

Share your wonderful thoughts

