Homemade, Fresh Mex, Fast-Food Burritos

With all of the seed starting, transplanting, weeding, bed preparing, and  host of other daily gardening chores that I need to attend to, now that spring is on the horizon, the last thing I want to do is take time out and prepare a home cooked meal.  If it were up to me, I’d probably just hook myself up to a portable IV system of some sort, and feed off of it all day so that I could just go right on working on the tasks at hand.  The rest of my family, however,  prefers to eat – wouldn’t you just know it? – solid food.  So, what’s a girl to do? How about tossing together a home-cooked, healthy, fast food meal that satisfies everyone’s hunger, and  gets me right back out into the garden, where I can keep on truckin’.

The key to making homemade fast food is using quick-cooking foods, and  ingredients that are prepared ahead of time so that all I have to do is heat things up and toss them together to make a meal.

Today’s lunch is a great example of a healthy, fast-food meal that I often throw together for my family.  The three key ingredients are brown rice, black bean salsa, and flour tortillas.  I prefer to use instant brown rice (I love instant brown rice.  It gives all of the health benefits of regular brown rice, and may even have a lower glycemic index, but takes only 10 minutes, instead of 50, to prepare – perfect when I’m looking to make a quick meal), a home-made Fresh Mex black bean salsa (recipe to follow), and ready- to- cook flour tortillas from Tortillaland.

Here’s the 411 on this fantastic, fast-food meal…

Homemade Fresh Mex Black Bean Salsa

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked black beans (I prefer the taste and texture of homemade, but canned works in a pinch)

2 cups canned, petite diced tomatoes (for some reason canned tastes better than fresh, to me, in this recipe)

2 cups frozen, thawed, organic white corn, or fresh, homegrown  (so that we avoid those pesky GMOs)

1 large, sweet onion, finely chopped

1 large bunch fresh cilantro, finely chopped

salt to taste

(if you like it spicy, you could add some chopped hot pepper into the mix, too!)

Instructions:

Drain as much of the liquid as you can from the beans, tomatoes, and corn.  Toss all of the ingredients together into a large bowl, mix well, and season with a little salt, and you’ve got one fabulous, homemade Fresh Mex Black Bean salsa!

black bean salsa

It was the leftovers that I’d made for  Superbowl Sunday that became the inspiration for the burritos that I made, today…

Homemade, Fresh Mex, Fast-Food Burritos

Ingredients:

1-2 cups Homemade Fresh Mex Black Bean Salsa

1 cup uncooked instant brown rice

6 ready to cook flour tortillas

Instructions:

Cook brown rice and flour tortillas according to package instructions.  At the same time, heat a large frying pan over medium-high heat.  When pan is hot, add black bean salsa and begin to stir, gently, to heat through.  When rice is finished cooking, add to salsa and stir to incorporate into mixture.  Turn off heat.  Fill each flour tortilla with about 1/3 cup of the black bean salsa/rice mixture, roll it up, and that’s it!  Fast.  Easy.  Healthy.  No knives, forks, or plates needed.  Simply grab one and head back out to the garden (or whatever else you need to get back to).  I typically make 18-20 of these burritos at one time for my family, and they rarely last into the next day!

black bean salsa rice burrito

You could also serve this as a soft taco, at a sit-down meal.   Just add some chopped lettuce,  sliced avocado and enjoy it at a little slower pace.

This would also make a wonderful filling for veggie enchiladas.

Oftentimes I serve the salsa, alone, with organic tortilla chips as a stand alone meal.

I’ll bet you could think of a hundred different ways to make your own, healthy, fast food meal using ingredients, like this.

If you come up with something interesting, or fun, let me know!

Share your wonderful thoughts

