Time to Re-Purpose a Painting

Last weekend, my husband and I attended our first live auction, and came home with a great painting that I knew would be the perfect background for this project.

Before getting to the graphic design work, I knew I had to do something with that gilded frame.  It just would not go with the modern typography I was planning on using.  So, I painted it a buttery white with some left-over cabinet paint I had lying around in my pantry.

Next, using vinyl stickers that I found at a local office supply store, I created a layout for the Bible verse that I chose for this painting (Ecclesiastes 3:1). This was the most time consuming aspect of this project.  I placed, removed, and replaced stickers quite a few times before I settled in on a design that I liked, was properly spaced, and (for the most part) aligned.

Then, I painted over the top of the stickers with a black, oil-based paint.  I painted in an outward direction, away from each sticker, to help reduce the amount of paint bleed underneath the stickers.  This was a highly textured print, making it difficult to produce crisp edges.  I’m going to have to remember this, the next time I select a painting for this type of project.  My daughter actually loves the look of the “blurry” lettering, and says I shouldn’t try to touch it up.  I’m still debating that one, but I may just take her advice.

I removed the stickers with tweezers fairly quickly after I painted the letters.  They came off really easily and didn’t pull off any of the original paint underneath them, which is one of the things I was a little worried about when I got started.  Yes, I probably should have practiced on something smaller and less expensive before I jumped in, but leaping before I look is pretty much my M.O., and why change that now?

Lastly, I went back and finished painting in the remainder of the picture black.  In some ways, I felt like I was desecrating the picture.  I would never do this with a Picasso or Rembrandt, but, as the verse says, there really IS a season, time, and purpose for everything under heaven.  It just happened that today was the perfect season and time for re-purposing this painting!

Do you have any old paintings lying around that are screaming for a makeover?  Why not get some stickers and paint a favorite Bible or motivational verse over it today?

Share your wonderful thoughts

