Birds: If You Can’t Beat ‘Em, Join ‘Em!

Have you ever had something unexpected and unintentional happen that, despite it’s lack of success, turned out to be rewarding in the end?

This past weekend, my husband and I spent a good deal of time clearing out a weed-infested area right in front of our house to create an area for a new, small lawn.  We hoed it, raked it, and then laid down tall fescue seed in the shape of a figure-8, and bordered it with sweet alyssum that we transplanted from another part of the garden.

Unfortunately, the area is now teeming with birds!  Sparrows, Red Robins, Finches, and even Quail have descended upon our newly planted patch of lawn with absolutely no regard to the fact that we’re trying to grow something there!

As a deterrent, I’ve thought about putting up “No Tresspassing” signs, but birds can’t read;  I’ve tinkered with the idea of placing out some whirlygigs, but I don’t want to fork over the money.

Just this morning, a new idea dawned on me:  If I put out some real birdseed, perhaps they’ll go for  that and leave our freshly sown grass seed alone.

So, I moseyed out to the garden shed, grabbed a pretty, blue, ceramic pot saucer  and a bag of  birdseed and headed for the front yard.

As I was pouring the birdseed into the blue dish, another pretty, small, overturned pot caught my eye.  “Wow!” I thought.  “These will make quite a pair!”  Now I was not only on a mission to deter the birds, but to create something that would add beauty and charm, as well as purpose, to my garden!

Leaving the pot overturned, I perched the blue dish on top, filled it with birdseed, and set it into a sheltered, but visible part of one of the nearby garden beds, hoping it would perform it’s rightful duty, and lure the birds away from the newly planted grass seed.

So far, a few birds have found it, and are happily feasting on a far more interesting diet of mixed seeds and corn, but it still hasn’t kept the majority of birds from stealing our lawn seed.

I’m okay with that, though.  Now, I have a handsome, little bird feeder – a splendid new addition to my garden – which will attract even more birds into my garden, providing fun bird-watching, natural pest control, and aiding in plant pollinization.

In the Bible, one of my favorite verses is Romans 8:28 which says, “And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.”

Today, I’m thanking God that He has caused a discouraging and disheartening event to be turned into a surprising and pleasing experience.  Oh, how He loves us!

This weekend, I’m sure, will be spent re-seeding the new lawn area and constructing a chicken wire cage to protect the seeds from all of the little birdies.  Although I’m happy to have them in my gardens, I’m sure I’ll enjoy them much more once our front yard lawn is established, lush and green.

In the meantime — if you can believe it — I am going to be researching and thinking about other ways to attract even more birds into my gardens.  I am fully resigned to the saying, “If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em”!

Share your wonderful thoughts

