What Would It Take To Grow All of Our Family’s Food?

I’ve never really thought about it before.  It’s an interesting question, isn’t it?  It’s also one that’s very intimidating.  Some of the questions that run through my mind as I think about the prospect of our family going “off- grid” food-wise are: What type of foods shall I  grow?  What will be the best method for growing them?  How much land and how many plants will be sufficient?

I’ve spent a lot of time researching, reading,  and looking for answers to my questions.  There is a myriad of great information out there, and so much to learn!  It’s overwhelming, at times, when I think about where I currently am on the learning curve (which is somewhere near the beginning).

However, as Pablo Picasso once said, “Action is the foundational key to all success”.

Each time I put what I’m learning into action, I become a little more proficient at growing more of our own food.

I don’t know if we’ll be ever to completely go “off-grid”; however, given the fact that food prices keep rising, the shaky state of our U.S. economy, and the very real possibility that my husband my soon be facing unemployment, I’ve never been more motivated to begin implementing all I’m learning about mini-farming in order to replace even more  store-bought foods with with fresh, home-grown crops and move a little closer towards self-sufficiency regarding our family’s food supply.

In the next few posts, I’ll be looking more specifically at what it will take to get us there.  I’m excited to share with you all that I’ve been learning, and talk with you about the real challenges and great possibilities that lie ahead of us.

Perhaps it will inspire you to begin growing just a little bit more of your family’s own food, too!

Share your wonderful thoughts

