My Dinner-Inspiring Garden

     I love “taco truck” tacos –the ones with a soft corn tortilla, and shredded pork topped with cilantro and onion.   With the abundance of arugula and cilantro growing in my garden, I was inspired to create some of my own last night.  Nothing could have been simpler and, boy, were they good!  

     For the shredded pork, I used a pork shoulder roast covered in a sauce made with 1 cup ketchup, a jar of green chile salsa, a heaping tablespoon of minced garlic, and a teaspoon of hickory flavored liquid smoke that I placed into a crock pot and let cook on low all day. 

     For the “dry” salsa, I combined 1 cup of chopped cilantro leaves, 1/4 cup of chopped onion, and about 4 chopped arugula leaves.

     For the corn tortillas, I made shells by folding them in half and quickly frying them in about 1 inch of hot oil (I dip the tortillas in the oil for a few seconds, first, to soften them up before folding them in half).  

     To assemble, I put the shredded pork inside of the taco shells, and topped it with the cilantro/arugula/onion mix, …that’s all there was to it!

     I love that my garden was the inspiration for last night’s dinner!

One thought on “My Dinner-Inspiring Garden

  1. Your post made me crave these…yum. Loooove shredded pork, and of course all the fresh garden ingredients sound mouth watering. 😛

Share your wonderful thoughts

